The End Of An Era: Michfest’s 40th Anniversary will be the Last

I wanted to go last year but was too busy, too afraid. I’m going this year, “Lord willin and the creek don’t rise” as my Grandma would say. And I’m going to give as much as I can to the scholarship fund. I hope to meet some of the radfems who have inspired me in blogland.

GenderTrender

michfest

Lisa Vogel, the creator and visionary behind the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival announced today that the legendary multi-generational women’s encampment and music festival will end this year.

After four decades of overcoming every sort of challenge imaginable in order to create the miracle that is Michfest, Vogel posted the following announcement an hour ago on the festival’s Facebook page:

Dear Sisters, Amazon, Festival family,

It has been my honor and privilege to produce the Michigan Womyn’s Music Festival for 40 years. It has been my life’s work, my deepest commitment, my constant challenge and my most profound joy. Every single thing of value I have learned in the world I have learned in the process of being part of building this beloved community. Almost every friend and family member who I cherish I have met on that hallowed ground, and every single way I have learned to put my…

View original post 646 more words

Leave a Reply

